Click here for home page

Click here

Contact Us | Customer Information | Privacy Policy | Audio Help

Main Menu
Submit a review
Album Reviews
Book Reviews
DVD Reviews
Sign up for newsletter
Gig reviews
Get Your EMail Address
Submit your website
SECRET SMILE This Is Our Time Now (2009)

Secret Smile

Secret Smile - Ken Barberio (guitar/keyboards), TJ Gabriele (vocals), Bob Ventresca (drums), Scott Wilson (guitars) and Todd Wilson (bass) – have been around since the 80's and this is the band's fifth studio album. They have toured with plenty of big names as well including Foreigner, Meatloaf, Enuff Z Nuff, LA Guns and many more.

They play a laid back mix of AOR meets hard rock, not a million miles away from Danger Danger (singer Ted Poley appeared on the band's previous album) or Lynn Allen. Nothing too heavy, just plenty of catchy, melodic filled choruses and tunes. ‘We're Sticking Around' and ‘Heaven Only Knows' are perfect examples of this, perfect for a summer's day. ‘I'm On My Way' could easily be a Boston tune and if there was a single release of this album this would have to be it.

This album doesn't contain anything that hasn't been done before but Secret Smile do it so well, with memorable songs and choruses and a good sound throughout. Shame Frontiers or Escape haven't picked this one up as it would reach its deserved wider audience if they had.


Review by Jason Ritchie

Print this page in printer friendly format

Print this page in printer-friendly format

Tell a friend about this page

Tell a friend about this page

***** Out of this world | **** Pretty damn fine |
*** OK, approach with caution unless you are a fan |
** Instant bargain bin fodder | * Ugly. Just ugly

get ready to rock is a division of hotdigitsnewmedia group

Featured Artists
Artist Archive
Featured Labels
Label Archive
Do you want to appear here?