Click here for home page

Click here

Contact Us | Customer Information | Privacy Policy | Audio Help

Main Menu
Submit a review
Album Reviews
Book Reviews
DVD Reviews
Sign up for newsletter
Get Your EMail Address
Submit your website
RICKY WARWICK Belfast Confetti DR2 Records (2009)

Ricky Warwick

'Belfast Confetti' is the third solo album from The Almighty's frontman Ricky Warwick and in his own words is a collection of stories - those of his own, his family and his friend - all with the theme of his native Northern Ireland.

Not an acoustic album in the sense you would expect as many of the tracks feature drums, one that doesn't is 'Throwin' Dice'- a song that shows that Warwick has lost none of his song writing class from his early Almighty days as this track could have been from one of those early albums.

First single, 'The Arms Of Belfast Town' is a raucous number that is drenched in the sounds of Irish roots and, at times, reminds me a little of The Pogues. The album in general has a number of Bon Jovi, or even Bruce Springsteen - type moments and this is never more apparent than during 'Thousands Are Leaving'.

Other highlights on this 11 track CD include 'Can't Wait For Tomorrow', title track 'Belfast Confetti', 'Punchin' Thunder' and the buoyant 'Can't Hurt A Fool'.

A tour is about to be announced in support of the album and, for a man with a well documented rock n roll past, Warwick is now carving out what could be a very successful solo career.


Review by Nikk Gunns

Print this page in printer friendly format

Print this page in printer-friendly format

Tell a friend about this page

Tell a friend about this page

***** Out of this world | **** Pretty damn fine |
*** OK, approach with caution unless you are a fan |
** Instant bargain bin fodder | * Ugly. Just ugly

get ready to rock is a division of hotdigitsnewmedia group

Featured Artists
Artist Archive
Featured Labels
Label Archive
Do you want to appear here?