Click here for home page

Click here

Contact Us | Customer Information | Privacy Policy | Audio Help

Main Menu
Submit a review
Album Reviews
Book Reviews
DVD Reviews
Sign up for newsletter
Gig reviews
Get Your EMail Address
Submit your website
GUILT MACHINE On This Perfect Day Mascot (2009)

Guilt Machine

Interesting Progressive Metal from multi instrumentalist Arjen Lucassen (Star One, Ayreon etc), featuring vocalist Jasper Steverlinck (Arid), drummer Chris Maitland (Porcupine Tree) and guitarst Lori Linstruth (Stream Of Pasion).

The opening track (the 11 minutes epic 'Twisted Coil') at times sounds a little electronic and programmed, with industrial hints, but itís also complex, searing, grandiose, itís everything a prog metal fan would like. The strings add an extra dimension, but the odd line of radio commentary is a little annoying. The range is dark and heavy to atmospheric and at times melancholic.

The tracks are long, varied, and change pace well. The rhythms are good, and sometimes as complex as the music and lyrics. The odd nod at Rush is good too.

The shortest track is still over 6 minutes, itís not like you can just put one track on and pick out a simple melody.

The harsh electronic edges stop the music flowing quite as well as it could do, but otherwise it is a good and solid prog metal album.


Review by Joe Geesin

Print this page in printer friendly format

Print this page in printer-friendly format

Tell a friend about this page

Tell a friend about this page

***** Out of this world | **** Pretty damn fine |
*** OK, approach with caution unless you are a fan |
** Instant bargain bin fodder | * Ugly. Just ugly

get ready to rock is a division of hotdigitsnewmedia group

Featured Artists
Artist Archive
Featured Labels
Label Archive
Do you want to appear here?