Click here for home page

Click here

Contact Us | Customer Information | Privacy Policy | Audio Help

Main Menu
Submit a review
Album Reviews
Book Reviews
DVD Reviews
Sign up for newsletter
Get Your EMail Address
Submit your website
MOTT THE HOOPLE ‘Mott The Hoople’ (Angel Air SJPCD157) (2003)

Mott The Hoople

First in a series of Mott the Hoople's Island albums, that have been re-mastered and add bonus tracks. This being the band's 1969 debut album, with the line-up was Ian Hunter (vocals/piano), a pre-Bad Company Mick Ralphs (guitar), Verden Allen (organ), Overend Watts (bass) and Dale Griffin (drums). It's a mix of covers and band's originals - pick of the covers is the bonus live track 'Ohio', originally by Neil Young and an instrumental workout of the Kinks' 'You Really Got Me'. Classic slice of rock on the Ralphs' penned 'Rock 'N' Roll Queen', with Hunter showing his vocal talents on 'At The Crossroads'.

One for the fans and those with an interest in the roots of 70's rock. As you'd expect from Angel Air, there are extensive sleeve notes (a mini-book in this case!) and the sound is very clean and clear, even the live track benefits.

Label website

Related>> Mad Shadows reissue review

Related>> Wildlife reissue review

Related>> Two Miles From Heaven reissue review


Review by Jason Ritchie

Buy this CD

© 2003 All rights reserved.

Backsliding Fearlessly
© 2003 Angel Air Records. All rights reserved.

***** Out of this world | **** Pretty damn fine |
*** OK, approach with caution unless you are a fan |
** Instant bargain bin fodder | * Ugly. Just ugly

Featured Artists
Artist Archive
Featured Labels
Label Archive
Do you want to appear here?

get ready to rock is a division of hotdigitsnewmedia group