Click here for home page

Click here

Contact Us | Customer Information | Privacy Policy | Audio Help

Main Menu
Submit a review
Album Reviews
Book Reviews
DVD Reviews
Sign up for newsletter
Get Your EMail Address
Submit your website
HANOI ROCKS Another Hostile Takeover Demolition DEMCD152 (2006)

This is the Finnish band’s second post reformation album and probably their finest, even compared to the early 80s material.

Based around original guitarist Andy McCoy and singer Michael Monroe, the band also features bassist Andy Christell and guitarist Conny Bloom (both ex Electric Boys) and drummer Lacu (formerly of Monroe’s solo band), and with a solid, modern and slick production, we get 12 prime slices of the best Hanoi Rocks you’ll here. The modern sound works well and makes the material more approachable than the material of 25 years ago, while retaining all the sleaze and attitude of their former incarnations.

Opener 'Back In Yer Face' is exactly that and a pure pleasure, while 'Love' is 2½ minutes of pure rock’n’roll.

Monroe’s vocals are as good ever, and the guitars go from solid new wave to blistering.

While many will credit Kiss and New York Dolls (maybe even the Strolling Bones), there would be no Crue, no G’n’R, no 80s glam, sleaze or hair metal without Hanoi Rocks. The original and best, and here’s the proof.


Review by Joe Geesin

***** Out of this world | **** Pretty damn fine |
*** OK, approach with caution unless you are a fan |
** Instant bargain bin fodder | * Ugly. Just ugly

Featured Artists
Artist Archive
Featured Labels
Label Archive
Do you want to appear here?

Guest contributor


Full bio